Open access resources - Health Care - Oppaat | Guides at Turku University of Applied Sciences

Use open access online resources

There is a wide range of high-quality open access material available online that you can use in your studies. Web pages and portals maintained by authorities are good examples of reliable open access sources. In this page you can find links to open access materials in the field of health care.

Open access scholarly articles

You can find a large variety of open access scholarly resources online besides e-resources acquired by Turku UAS and accessed with the Turku UAS user id and password. DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is one of the oldest and largest collection of open access scholarly journals. When performing a search in Turku UAS Finna, you get DOAJ journals in your search results. Journal.fi features Finnish scholarly journals.

Open access journals

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Monialainen lehtihakemisto vapaasti verkossa olevista tieteellisistä kokotekstilehdistä. -- Multidisciplinary open access service. Includes free, full text and quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

You can find the CC license in DOAJ after accessing the article or from the link About the Journal.

Journal.fi - suomalaiset tiedelehdet verkossa Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Suomalaisia vapaasti verkossa julkaistavia tiedelehtiä eri tieteenaloilta. - Finnish Open Access scholarly journals online.

Open access information sources

Fimea - Finnish Medicines Agency
Fimea regulates, supervises, studies and develops the pharmaceutical sector. It produces and provides pharmaceutical information in order to improve the effectiveness of the pharmaceutical services and medicinal treatments.
Finnish Food Authority -- Ruokavirasto
Finnish Food Authority aims at ensuring food safety and quality, promoting animal health and welfare, developing the prerequisites for plant and animal production, and promoting plant health.
Kela - The Social Insurance Institution of Finland
Kela provides social security coverage for Finnish residents. The benefits provided by Kela are based on legislation. Kela informs residents about the benefits and services and carries out research in order to develop social protection. It also compiles statistics, estimates and projections used in anticipating and monitoring the benefits and operations.
STM - Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
The duties of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health are to promote the health and functional capacity of the population, to promote healthy workplace and living environments, to ensure sufficient social welfare and health care services, to safeguard a reasonable income at various stages in life, and to promote gender equality.
THL - National Institute for Health and Welfare
THL studies and monitors the well-being and health of the population in Finland and develops measures to promote it. THL gathers and produces information based on research and statistics. It studies the effectiveness of the health and well-being politics and services, as well as environmental health and social issues.
TTL - Finnish Institute of Occupational Health
Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, FIOH, is a research and specialist organization in the field of occupational health and safety. It carries out research, and provides services and training.
Valvira - National Supervisory Authority for Welfare and Health
Valvira is a national agency operating under the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health. It supervises the social and health care, alcohol and environmental health sectors. It provides licensing for social and health care providers and offers guidance to the Regional State Administrative Agencies to achieve harmonised licensing, guidance and supervisory practices throughout Finland.

Open Access in Health Sciences
Terveyskampus Turku -yhteistyössä tehty terveystieteisiin keskittyvä englanninkielinen Open Access -opas. -- An Open Access guide focusing on health sciences created for Health Campus Turku.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
CRD is a world renowned institute that produces policy relevant research and innovative methods that advance the use of research evidence to improve population health.
EHYT - Finnish Association for Substance Abuse Prevention
EHYT Finnish Association for Substance Abuse Prevention works throughout Finland to promote healthy lifestyles. In addition to alcohol, tobacco and drug abuse prevention, it's remit also encompasses gaming and gambling. The aim is to improve well-being across Finnish society.
Ihmisoikeusliitto - The Finnish League for Human Rights
The Finnish League for Human Rights (FLHR) is a religiously and politically independent general human rights organisation. The FLHR's principal objective is to monitor the human rights situation in Finland. It raises awareness on human rights situation and promote the fulfilment of rights.
Imetyksen tuki ry
Information on breastfeeding.
Selkokeskus - The Finnish Centre for Easy to Read
The Finnish Centre for Easy to Read (Selkokeskus) promotes communication, information and culture in easy-to-read Finnish. The web page includes information on easy-to-read Finnish and provides guidelines and instructions.
TELA - The Finnish Pension Alliance
The Finnish Pension Alliance TELA looks after the interests of insurers providing statutory earnings-related pensions. It's mission is to strengthen the earnings-related pension system and to influence the sector’s general operating environment. The web page contans information on pension providers and the pension system.
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Väestöliitto - The Family Federation of Finland
Väestöliitto, the Family Federation of Finland, is a family welfare organization. It produces and disseminates information about families, young people, immigrants and the size and structure of the population. It also promotes sexual health and sexual education.
WHO - World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Julkari - STM:n hallinnonalan avoin julkaisuarkisto Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Sosiaali- ja terveysministeriön hallinnonalan julkaisuarkisto. Sisältää THL:n, Työterveyslaitoksen, Fimean, STUK:n ja Eläketurvakeskuksen julkaisuja. Osa julkaisuista on luettavissa kokotekstinä, osasta on vain viitetiedot. -- Finnish open publications archive common for the administrative branch of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health.

THL's publications
THL's (National Institute for Health and Welfare) publications, some of which are available in English.
WHO's publications
World Health Organization's publications and policy documents.

Global Health Observatory (GHO)
WHO's Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Kela's statistics
Statistics published by Kela, The Social Insurance Institution of Finland.
THL's statistics
THL (National Institute for Health and Welfare) produces a range of statistics in the field of social welfare and health care to support decision-making, development and research. As a statistical authority THL is responsible for the maintenance and development of statistical and register resources.

Tilasto- ja indikaattoripankki SOTKAnet Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
- Linkki avautuu uuteen ikkunaan
Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitoksen (THL) verkkopalvelu. Sisältää tilastotietoja suomalaisten terveydestä ja hyvinvoinnista. -- National Institute for Health and Welfare website. Includes statistical information on welfare and health in Finland.

Tilastokeskus - Statistics Finland
Statistics Finland produces the vast majority of Finnish official statistics and is a significant international actor in the field of statistics. Statistics are available by topic, for example health or social protection.
WHO / Europe - Data and evidence
Statistics by WHO (World Health Organization) concerning Europe.

Health Care subject guide

In this guide you will find information resources in health care, nursing, emergency care and midwifery.

Take a closer look at the relevant resources specific to your studies, but keep in mind that other subject guides might also prove to be useful. Tips on information seeking are also provided.

More info

Guide to Information Seeking

Health Care: Open access resources

Use open access online resources

Open access scholarly articles

Open access information sources

Health Care subject guide

More info

Usage rights of the guide