Skip to main content

Guide to RefWorks (New): Inserting citations into text documents

Adding citations and creating bibliographies into documents

RefWorks offers add-ins for Microsoft Word that allow you to drop any citation from your RefWorks account into a Word document. There are two versions of the add-in: Write-N-Cite and RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM). If you are not using Microsoft Word, or have no add-on installed in Word you can use RefWorks Quick cite tool to insert citations.

Write-N-Cite compatibility:

  • Windows 7, 8 ja 10 / Word 2010, 2013, 2016
  • Mac OS X version 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9, 10.10, or 10.11 (Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite, El Capitan) + Sierra 10.12 / Microsoft Word for Mac 2008 and 2011

NB! Write-N-Cite does NOT work with Office 365 (Word online).

For TUAS computers, please request TUAS Service Desk for Write-N-Cite installation!

RefWorks Citation Manager compatibility:

  • Word 2016 (Mac ja Windows)
  • Microsoft Word for Office 365

NB! RCM does NOT currently work with Office 365 (Word online) or with TUAS thesis template. The new version of RCM will be released later in 2019 and it will be compatible with Word 2019.

Additional information on compatibility and system requirements.

TIP! If you have no add-on installed in Word you can use RefWorks Quick cite tool to insert citations. See the bottom of the page for more information on Quick cite tool.

 

Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite is a utility that allows users to run RefWorks in Microsoft Word in order to drop citations and to create a bibliography. You can install Write-N-Cite to your own computer. TUAS staff can request a Write-N-Cite installation from TUAS Service Desk servicedesk(a)turkuamk.fi.

See for more information on Write-N-Cite compatibility requirements at the top of the page.


Videos on installing and using Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite in PCs and Macs

Go to the Tools > Tools page in RefWorks. Scroll down in Tools page to find Cite in Microsoft Words. Select the 32-bit or 64-bit version. If you don't know which version you should install or how to install Write-N-cite in Macs, please read the instruction provided in the page.

NB! Please check details about the installation and Write-N-Cite compatibility with Windows, Mac and different versions of Microsoft Word.

How to log in to RefWorks in Word:

1. Open the Proquest tab.

2. Click the Log in button.

3. Log in with your RefWorks user ID and click Log in.

4. Select which version of Refworks (old or new) you wish to use.


After you have logged in the Proquest tab will change into RefWorks tab. If you have made any changes in your own RefWorks, please synchronize RefWorks and Write-N-Cite by clicking Sync My Database. You can now start using Write-N-Cite.

RefWorks covers hundreds of citation styles. Citations and footnotes will appear in the text with that style you have chosen. The Harvard style is recommended when writing a thesis at TUAS. Citation styles vary in different fields of science and journals.

Select the citation style:

1. Select the style from the Style drop-down menu.

2. Click the name of the style and the citations will appear in that style.

3. To change the style at any stage of your writing process go to the Style drop-down menu and select another style.

4. You can add styles to Write-N-Cite Other styles list. If you cannot find the style you need in the Other styles list, login to your RefWorks account and activate the style. In RefWorks: Select Create bibliography and search the style you wish to add in Search for styles box. Create a bibliography in this style in your RefWorks account. The style is now activated.

Go back to Word and open the Write-N-Cite tab. Click Sync my Database button. The style will now appear in this list.

1. To insert a new citation, click Insert Citation > Insert New. The recently inserted citations appear automatically under the Insert Citation button.

2. Open the Insert/Edit Citation box to browse your references by folder or to search for a specific citation. You can view the references by author, year or title.
3. Right-click on the item to see the full reference details. 

4. Click on the reference you wish to insert into your work. You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current output style. Add more references to the citation by using the + icon in the Compose Citation area and click the reference you wish to insert.

The references are added to the Compose Citation box. 

 

Adding page numbers to a citation

Use the Suffix box to add page numbers, e.g. 23 - 24. After typing the page numbers, press the tabulator to see your edit in the preview.

 

Hiding authors in a citation

Use the Hide Author feature if you wish to insert a citation in the beginning or in the end of a clause. E.g. "After Altman (2012)...". Select the preferred citation and click Hide Author.

Removing one reference:

1. Move the cursor to the citation you wish to edit and double-click the citation to open the Insert/Edit Citation box.
2. Go to the Compose Citation box and select the reference you wish to remove.
3. Remove the reference by clicking the - icon.
4. Click OK. The bibliography will be updated automatically.

Removing a whole citation

In this case Write-N-Cite Edit does not work. Instructions:

  1. Highlight the citation and delete it in the same way as if you were deleting text in Word.
  2. Update the bibliography by clicking Reapply Output Style, because the bibliography is not updated automatically.
  1. Move your cursor to the point you wish to add the bibliography. You can insert a bibliography at any time during your writing process.
  2. Click Bibliography - Insert Bibliography.
  3. In future your references will be updated automatically in the bibliography.

To remove a bibliography please click Remove Bibliography. Do not use other functions in Word to remove a bibliography.

Create a backup after you have finished your Word document. Then select Remove Field Codes. This function will remove all field codes and all you have left is a text. You can now edit citations and bibliography in Word.

IMPORTANT NOTE! Please make sure that you have created a backup before clicking the Remove Field Codes button. You cannot undo this function and you need a backup if you wish to edit your text later (e.g. add citations).

Loading ...

RefWorks Citation Manager

RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) is a Microsoft Word add-in for accessing, inserting and formatting citations, footnotes and bibliographies in your Word document. RCM runs on Office 2016 and Microsoft Word for Office 365 in PCs and Macs. 

Installing RefWorks Citation Manager

  1. Open Microsoft Word
  2. Click Insert
  3. Click Store (Word 2016) OR My Add-ins (Microsoft Word for Office 365)
  4. Enter RefWorks into the search field (Word 2016) OR select Admin managed tab (Microsoft Word for Office 365)
  5. Click Add
  6. RCM appears as a sidebar on the right side of your document. If this is your first time using the add-in, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account.

See for more information on RCM compatibility requirements at the top of the page.

 

Videos on installing ja using the RefWorks Citation Manager

Inserting citations and a bibliography directly into a document without add-ons

The Quick cite tool enables you to insert citations, if you are not using Microsoft Word, or have no add-on installed in Word. Click  the Create Bibliography icon at the top menu and select Quick cite.


1. Select your citation style

Select your preferred citation style.

2. Selecting and copying citations

Next, select one or more references you wish to cite. Click the clipboard icon to copy the citation to your clipboard. After this you can paste the citation to your word processor.

3. Create the bibliography

Use the list at Insert citations to select the citations you would like to use in your bibliography. Then click Continue to bibliography and copy the bibliography to your clipboard.

 

Video on using Quick cite

If you need to create a bibliography, you need to have all the references you wish to use in the same folder. If you need to add references to your bibliography from several different folders, select All documents at the top menu. Select the preferred references and click Create bibliography at the top menu. If you wish to use all references there is no need to select all references.

Select the citation style and copy the bibliography to your clipboard.

Loading ...

About this guide

This guide by Turku University of Applied Sciences assists you in using The New RefWorks. If you are using the old version of RefWorks, please have a look at the guide.

Do you need help?

Contact Library at the Turku University of Applied Sciences by our online form or by email library@turkuamk.fi.

We are happy to help you!