Skip to main content

Guide to RefWorks (New): Importing references to RefWorks

Importing references to RefWorks

1. Perform a search in a database, select the references you wish to export to RefWorks and click (may vary in different databases)

  • RefWorks Export
  • Reference management - RefWorks Export
  • Save and send files / Export RefWorks
  • Download Record into RefWorks Direct Export Tool
  • Direct Export to RefWorks
  • RefWorks Direct Export

If you cannot find a function that exports references to RefWorks, click Save, Export, Download, Display, Export citation, Export option etc.

After this, the database may offer you different options regarding the export process. Make modifications if necessary.

2. In this stage the RefWorks login page may open to a new window. To be able to export references, you have to be logged in to RefWorks. You might also receive a notification asking you which version of RefWorks (RefWorks New / Legacy RefWorks) you wish to use.

3. After the reference is imported successfully, you will get a notification Import Complete. Click OK to see the content of the Last Imported folder. The imported references appear always in the Last Imported folder. Move the reference into some other folder.

4. Click the reference to view the details. The reference opens in the editor on the right. Please remember to check each reference to see that the information is imported correctly and as a whole (e.g. problems may occur when using Google Scholar). 

TIPS!

  • RefWorks is not always able to recognize Scandinavian letters or special characters. They must be edited manually.
  • Check that the type of the reference is correct, for example journal article, book.

If there is something you need to correct or add (e.g. your own notes) in the reference, click the pencil symbol for editing mode.

TUAS Finna search service provides you an easy access to all printed and electronic resources acquired by TUAS Library. Here is how to export references from Finna to RefWorks:

  1. Search the material you need and click the name of the book, article or other material to open the record.
  2. Click Export reference > Export to RefWorks > Send to RefWorks. You will be redirected to the RefWorks login page automatically. To be able to export references, you have to be logged in to RefWorks. You might also receive a notification asking you which version of RefWorks (RefWorks New / Legacy RefWorks) you would like to use.
  3. After the reference is imported successfully, you will get a notification Import Complete. Click OK to see the content of the Last Imported folder. The imported references appear always in the Last Imported folder.
  4. To view the details, click the reference. The reference opens in the editor on the right. Please remember to check each reference to see that the information is imported correctly, for example that the type is correct. RefWorks is able to recognize Scandinavian letters
  5. If there is something you need to correct or add (e.g. your own notes) in the reference, click the pencil symbol for editing mode.

You can add references to RefWorks manually:

1. To add a reference, click the + icon (Add a reference) at the top menu and select Create new reference.

2. Choose from a droplist menu the type of the reference, for example journal article, book, thesis or other. It is important to choose a matching type for a reference as it affects the form of the reference. Note that the reference might be edited further afterwards! 

3. Type the reference details in the editor on the right.

You can add references to RefWorks from RefWorks' own index:

1. Click the + icon at the top menu and select Create new reference.

2. Move your cursor to the title field and type the name of an article or a book you wish to add. You will get suggestions from RefWorks. When you find the correct reference, click it and the reference details will be added automatically.

Use the Save to RefWorks button to add references and documents to RefWorks from any website. To install this button to your browser, go to Tools page in RefWorks.

In Tools page, click Install Save to RefWorks to add the button. Drag and drop the button to your favourites bar.

Web browser related problems

  • Problems may occur when using Save to RefWorks in Internet Explorer. Please use other browser.
  • Save to RefWorks does not work with Microsoft Edge. 
  • Follow the manual installation instructions if you are having problems with installation in Chrome.

You can upload PDF files from your own computer to RefWorks:

1. Click the + icon at the top menu and select Create new reference.

2. Drag and drop the file to the designated box or click select a file from your computer. Edit the reference details if necessary, as RefWorks often does not identify the type of the reference. In that case please modify the type Generic to the correct one. After corrections, finally click Save.

 

RefWorks has a built-in reader that you can use to open the PDF documents you have imported to RefWorks. You can also comment and add highlight text in your PDF documents. This feature is enabled also in shared folders, which is useful when working in groups.

 

To add comments on PDF documents, click Comment on the selected text.

 

To add highlights on PDF documents, click Highlight the selected text.

Importing References from ACS (American Chemical Society) database into RefWorks

In ACS database

  1. Select reference(s) by checking the corresponding box(es).
  2. Click on the Download Citations icon.
  3. Select RIS under "Format".
  4. Click on the Download Citations button.
  5. Save the .ris file in your local disk when prompted.
  6. Go to RefWorks.

In RefWorks

  1. Click on the + icon > Import References.
  2. Click Select a file from your computer and select .ris file. or drop the file.  
  3. In the window "What is the format of this file?" select RIS Format in the drop down menu.
  4. Click Import.
  5. After import is completed click OK.
  6. Your record(s) should appear in the "Last Imported Folder".

Import references from Cochrane Líbrary to RefWorks:

In Cochrane Library

  1. Select the references you wish to export.
  2. To export all references select Export all. To export the selected references only, select Export selected.
  3. When a pop-up window opens, select Export type: PC/Unix or Linux/Mac and File type: Citation only or Citation and Abstract. After this, click Export Citation.
  4. When a pop-up window opens click Save File and OK.
  5. The saved references can be found in Downloads from your computer. The format is citation-export.txt.
  6. Go to RefWorks.

In RefWorks

  1. Click the + icon (Import references) at the top menu bar.
  2. Drag and drop the file or select the file from your computer.
  3. RefWorks gives the notification: "What is the format of this file?" Find the correct file format by typing Cochrane in the search field. Select the file to be imported in Wiley InterScience format.
  4. When a notification Import Complete appears, click OK.
  5. The references can be found in the Last Imported file. File the references.

EBSCOhost includes the following databases Academic Search Elite, Cinahl, Cinahl Complete, Art Full Text, GreenFILE, EBook Collection and Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts LISTA). Here is how to export references from the EBSCOHost databases to RefWorks:

How to export one reference

1. Perform a search in an EBSCOHost database and open the reference by clicking the title. 

2. Select Export > Direct Export to RefWorks under the Tools menu and click Save.

3. If you are not logged in to RefWorks, you will be redirected to the RefWorks login page automatically. You might also receive a notification asking you which version of RefWorks you would like to use (RefWorks New / Legacy RefWorks).

4. After the reference has been successfully imported, you will get a notification Import Complete. Click OK to see the content of the Last Imported folder. The imported references appear always in the Last Imported folder.

 

How to export several references

1. Perform a search in an EBSCOHost database and collect all the references you need to a folder by clicking the blue + folder symbol.

2. Click the Folder symbol located in the upper bar of the search page or select Go to Folder View. The references you selected can now be found in the folder.

3. Select the references you would like to export and click Export > Direct Export to RefWorks under the Tools menu. After this click Save.

4. If you are not logged in to RefWorks, you will be redirected to the RefWorks login page automatically. You might also receive a notification asking you which version of RefWorks you would like to use (RefWorks New / Legacy RefWorks).

5. After the reference is imported successfully, you will get a notification Import Complete. Click OK to see the content of the Last Imported folder. The imported references appear always in the Last Imported folder.

IMPORTING SEVERAL REFERENCES AT A TIME

In Medic

  1. Select the references you wish to export.
  2. Click "Näytä valitut" to open the Valitut folder.
  3. Select the format from the tulostus/tallennusmuoto drop-down menu: RIS (RefWorks, Endnote...) and click OK.
  4. References open in a tab. Select "Save as" in your browser to save the references to your own computer. Please use text file (.txt) format.

 

In RefWorks

  1. Click the + icon (Import references) at the top menu bar.
  2. Drag and drop the file or select the file from your computer.
  3. RefWorks gives you the notification: "What is the format of this file? We think this is RIS format." Select RIS-UTF8 format from the drop-down menu and click Import.
  4. When a notification Import Complete appears, click OK.
  5. References can be found in the Last Imported file. File the references.

 

IMPORTING ONE REFERENCE

  1. Click the red RefWorks button that can be found on the right side of the reference.
  2. The reference is imported automatically.
  3. The reference can be found in the Last Imported file.
  4. File the reference.

Import references from PubMed to RefWorks:

In PubMed

  1. Select the references you wish to import.
  2. Go to Send to and select Citation manager and click Create File.
  3. When a pop-up window opens, select Save File and click OK.
  4. Saved references can be found in Downloads from your computer. The format is citations.nbib.
  5. Go to RefWorks.

In RefWorks

  1. Click the + icon (Import references) at the top menu bar.
  2. Drag and drop the file or select the file from your computer.
  3. RefWorks gives you the notification: "What is the format of this file? We think this file is NLM PubMed." Click Import
  4. When the notification Import Complete appears, click OK
  5. The references can be found in the Last Imported file. File the references.

You can add references to RefWorks from another reference management software:

  1. Click the + icon at the top menu (Add a reference) and select Import references.
  2. Click Import from a file.
  3. Selectthe file you wish to add.

Loading ...

Importing references from old RefWorks

You can copy your references from the old RefWorks to the new version simply by clicking the + icon at the top menu bar. Select Import references, RefWorks and Authorize. Type your old RefWorks user ID and password and import your references to the new RefWorks.

About this guide

This guide by Turku University of Applied Sciences assists you in using The New RefWorks. If you are using the old version of RefWorks, please have a look at the guide.

How to import references from databases

Do you need help?

Contact Library at the Turku University of Applied Sciences by our online form or by email library@turkuamk.fi.

We are happy to help you!